clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CJ McCollum Elected As NBPA’s New Union President

Per Yahoo Sports NBA Insider Chris Haynes, CJ McCollum will be replacing longtime NBPA President Chris Paul.

Portland Trail Blazers v Miami Heat Photo by Issac Baldizon/NBAE via Getty Images

After two four-year terms as the National Basketball Players Association’s President, Chris Paul has elected to not return for a third term. According to Yahoo Sports NBA Insider Chris Haynes, Portland Trail Blazers guard CJ McCollum was elected as the new president.

Since February of 2018, McCollum has worked as one of the Vice Presidents of the NBPA’s Executive Committee, where he worked hand-in-hand with Paul and a number of other NBA players. Just last season, he was re-elected in a player vote, locking him into a term from 2021 to 2024. Boston forward Grant Williams was also elected as a Vice President.

This represents a major change for the committee. Since 2013, Paul has served as president, providing major changes across the NBA’s landscape. As Bleacher Report’s Adam Wells noted, Paul, McCollum, and the rest of the group helped negotiate a new Collective Bargaining Agreement that runs through 2023-24. They also helped engineer the NBA’s Social Justice plan while in the bubble a season ago. Paul leaves behind a legacy as the second-longest-tenured president, second only to Oscar Robertson.

NBA reporter Marc Stein noted earlier that there had been a “growing belief” that Paul wouldn’t return, given the four-year contract he signed with Phoenix, that should set him up for potential retirement. That opens the door for the Blazers guard to step into a heightened role, a term that begins effective immediately.