clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Neil Olshey Receives One First Place Executive of the Year Vote

Phoenix Suns General Manager James Jones takes Executive of the Year. Neil Olshey comes in 10th.

San Antonio Spurs v Portland Trail Blazers Photo by Abbie Parr/Getty Images

Phoenix Suns General Manager and former Portland Trail Blazers player James Jones has won the NBA Executive of the Year award, while Portland Trail Blazers’ President of Basketball Operations Neil Olshey received a single first place vote.

Jones’ highlights include trading for All Star point guard Chris Paul and signing forward Jae Crowder while trading for wing defender Torrey Craig for cash considerations at this year’s trade deadline. The Suns are currently 1-0 up against the Los Angeles Clippers in the Western Conference Finals.

Jones played in Portland during the 2007-08 season.

Meanwhile, Olshey’s single first place vote gained him the 10th place in voting. Over the past 12 months, Olshey traded for Robert Covington, Norman Powell, signed Derrick Jones Jr., Harry Giles, Rondae Hollis-Jefferson and re-signed Carmelo Anthony.

Utah Jazz’ Dennis Lindsey came in second followed by Sean Marks (Brooklyn Nets), Leon Rose (New York Knicks), Tim Connelly (Denver Nuggets), Travis Schlenk (Atlanta Hawks), Mitch Kupchak (Charlotte Hornets, Jeff Weltman (Orlando Magic) and Sam Presti (Oklahoma City Thunder).