clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Refs Acknowledge Blown Call, Lillard Responds

New, comments

The Trail Blazers and Jazz exciting matchup was tainted by a clearly-missed goaltending call in the final moments.

Portland Trail Blazers v Utah Jazz Photo by Melissa Majchrzak/NBAE via Getty Images

The Jazz’s come-from-behind victory over the Blazers on Friday featured a clearly-missed goaltending call that could have swung the final result in a different direction. With time ticking down, Damian Lillard‘s final attempt was impeded by Rudy Gobert when the ball was still on the glass. The call should have been goaltending, an outcome that would have leveled the score with only a few seconds remaining.

Due to the lack of a whistle, the play was not reviewable. After the game, the officials involved acknowledged their mistake after reviewing the video.

NBC Sports Northwest’s Jamie Hudson gathered the response from the referees after the game.

When asked about the goaltending non-call, crew chief Josh Tiven responded:

“No, it was not reviewable since no goaltending call was made on the floor. Goaltending is only reviewable if we actually call it. The call needs to be made for a goaltending to be reviewable. We’ve since looked at it via postgame video review, and unfortunately saw that we missed the play, and a goaltending violation should have been called.”

Lillard, who was clearly frustrated by the game’s conclusion, voiced his continued displeasure on Twitter.

The Blazers return to action on Sunday to host the Heat.