clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NBA Admits Error in Last Two Minutes of Blazers vs. Spurs

New, comments

A key foul by CJ McCollum that sent LaMarcus Aldridge to the line turned out to be an incorrect call, according to the L2M report.

NBA: Portland Trail Blazers at San Antonio Spurs Daniel Dunn-USA TODAY Sports

The Portland Trail Blazers benefited from a late refereeing decision against the Dallas Mavericks on Sunday - but on Monday they found themselves on the short end of the stick in the final minute of a 113 to 110 defeat to the San Antonio Spurs.

With 46.3 seconds remaining in what ultimately became a close game, crew chief Zach Zarba claimed that guard CJ McCollum fouled LaMarcus Aldridge. The Spurs forward nailed the ensuing free-throws, thwarting the Blazers attempted comeback.

On Monday afternoon Trail Blazers digital reporter Casey Holdahl reported that, according to the recently released last two-minute report, McCollum did not foul Aldridge on that play.

McCollum chimed in over Twitter a few minutes later.

The Blazers have one more opportunity to finish their season-opening road trip with a winning record on Wednesday afternoon when they take on the Oklahoma City Thunder.