clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Ultimate Trail Blazers Showdown: Bill Walton versus Clyde Drexler

Which set of teammates reigns supreme in Portland lore?

The final showdown is here. In the voting for the best Portland Trail Blazers trios of all time, Clyde Drexler and Bill Walton have emerged from the pack. But only one can win. Does the Trail Blazers legacy start with Drexler, Terry Porter, and Jerome Kersey or does it still lie with Walton, Maurice Lucas, and Lionel Hollins. A single championship or an emerging era of domination...which makes the better trio?

On the way here, Walton and company obliterated a trio led by Portland’s first star, Geoff Petrie, then handled Rasheed Wallace, Aryvdas Sabonis, and Steve Smith with ease.

Drexler’s crew eliminated Brandon Roy, LaMarcus Aldridge, and Greg Oden then rolled past another Drexler incarnation (with Cliff Robinson and Rod Strickland) by the second biggest margin of the tournament.

Today, the best Blazer trio of all time is decided. Here’s the bracket right now. Complete that final slot by voting below.

The contenders:

Bill Walton, Maurice Lucas, Lionel Hollins. 2 seasons together (1976-1978)

Notables : Bob Gross

Their case: Three of the members of the the lone Blazers championship team in 1977. All three players finished NBA first team all defense in 1978. Walton was runner up for league MVP in 1977 and won it in 1978. Lucas, respectively, finished 9th and 6th in the MVP voting over those 2 years. Each of the three players were named to the 1978 NBA All-Star team with Walton and Lucas also earning those honors in the 1977 season. The teams finished with 49 wins in ‘77 and 58 wins in ‘78.

Clyde Drexler, Terry Porter, Jerome Kersey. 9 12 seasons together (1985-1995)

Notables: Buck Williams, Kevin Duckworth

Their case: This trio made it to the NBA finals in 1990 and 1992. 8 All-stars and 5 All-league selections for Drexler make him the most decorated Blazer of all time, but Porter also earned 2 All-star nods of his own. Kersey was more than just a role player, averaging north of 19 points 8 rebounds and 3 assists per game in the 1987-88 season. In 1990, all 3 players averaged over 20 points per game in a 21-game playoff run. They the playoffs every single year they were together. In 1990-91 they set the franchise record with 63 wins.

Vote now:


Championship Game

This poll is closed

  • 44%
    Bill Walton/Mauarice Lucas/Lionel Hollins
    (292 votes)
  • 55%
    Clyde Drexler/Terry Porter/Jerome Kersey
    (358 votes)
650 votes total Vote Now