clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ed Davis Receives 2015-16 Maurice Lucas Award

Ed Davis is the fifth Blazer to receive the award. Other recipients include LaMarcus Aldridge, Wesley Matthews, Damian Lillard, and Robin Lopez.

The Portland Trail Blazers have selected Ed Davis to receive the 2015-16 Maurice Lucas Award. The award has been an annual Trail Blazers tradition since the passing of Blazer great Maurice "The Enforcer" Lucas in 2010, and is given to the player that best represents his spirit.

Press Release:

PORTLAND, Ore. (April 9, 2016) Portland Trail Blazers forward Ed Davis has been selected as the recipient of the 2015-16 Maurice Lucas Award, the team announced today. President of Basketball Operations Neil Olshey will present the award to Davis following team introductions at tonight’s game against Minnesota.

The annual award is presented to the Trail Blazers player who best represents the indomitable spirit of Maurice Lucas through his contributions on the court and in the community, as well as in support of his teammates and the organization. In honor of the award, the Trail Blazers will make a $5,000 donation to a charity chosen by Davis.

"Since arriving in Portland, Ed's presence, selflessness and commitment to excellence on and off the court have made us a stronger and more competitive organization," said Olshey. "The character and spirit he has exhibited all year make him an ideal recipient of this season’s Maurice Lucas Award."

In his first season with the Trail Blazers, Davis is averaging 6.5 points and 7.4 rebounds (second on team) in 79 games off the bench. His 61.0% mark from the field is a career high for any of his six seasons in the NBA.

Davis has produced one of the most prolific seasons by a Trail Blazers reserve in team history. His 583 rebounds broke Dale Schlueter’s 45-year-old record for rebounds in a season off the bench (503). Davis has also tallied nine double-doubles, the most in a reserve role for Portland since Cliff Robinson totaled 11 in 1992-93.

With 216 offensive rebounds and 583 total rebounds, Davis ranks second to Oklahoma City’s Enes Kanter among league leaders off the bench in 2015-16.

"Ed has been the perfect addition to the Trail Blazers on the court and in the Portland community this season," said President & CEO Chris McGowan. "It’s important to recognize athletes who work hard to improve the areas where they play, and there was no better example than Maurice Lucas. Ed is a deserving recipient of this year’s honor."

The Trail Blazers dedicated the 2010-11 season to former Trail Blazers All-Star Maurice Lucas after he passed away on October 31, 2010 at the age of 58. A beloved member of the franchise and the community, "The Enforcer" was a central figure on the Trail Blazers 1976-77 NBA Championship team. The Trail Blazers honored Lucas by retiring his uniform number (No. 20) on Nov. 4, 1988.

Lucas averaged 15.6 points, 8.7 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 0.72 blocked shots over five seasons (1976-80, 1987-88) as a Trail Blazer. During Portland's 1976-77 NBA Championship season, Lucas led the team in scoring (20.2), field goals made (8.0), free throws made (4.2), offensive rebounds (2.4) and minutes (36.2).

Selected to the All-Star Game in three straight seasons from 1977-79, Lucas is one of five three-time All-Stars in Trail Blazers history (LaMarcus Aldridge, Clyde Drexler, Brandon Roy, Sidney Wicks). He most recently served as an assistant coach with the Trail Blazers for five seasons from 2005-10, and previously in 1988-89.


2015-16 – Ed Davis

2014-15 – LaMarcus Aldridge

2013-14 – Robin Lopez

2012-13 – Damian Lillard

2011-12 – Wesley Matthews

2010-11 – LaMarcus Aldridge