clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlanta Hawks' Mike Budenholzer Named NBA Coach of the Year

Trail Blazers Head Coach Terry Stotts also received votes.

Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA has announced that Atlanta Hawks coach Mike Budenholzer has been name Coach of the Year for the 2014-15 season.

Budenholzer received 67 first-place votes and 513 total points from a panel of 130 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. The Golden State Warriors' Steve Kerr, who led the Pacific Division champions to a franchise-record and NBA-high 67 victories in his first season as an NBA coach, finished second with 56 first-place votes and 471 total points. Jason Kidd of the Milwaukee Bucks was third with one first-place vote and 57 total points.

Budenholzer led the Hawks to a 60-22 record, matching a franchise high and earning the #1 seed in the Eastern Conference playoff bracket.

Portland Trail Blazers coach Terry Stotts received 2 third-place votes for a total of 2 points. This tied him with Doc Rivers of the Los Angeles Clippers, just below David Blatt of the Cleveland Cavaliers (3 points) and above Dallas' Rick Carlisle, Toronto's Dwane Casey, Phoenix coach Jeff Hornacek, and Monty Williams from the New Orleans Pelicans (1 vote each).