clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blazers G Wesley Matthews, F Nicolas Batum Draw Votes For 2014 All-Defensive Team

Portland Trail Blazers guard Wesley Matthews and forward Nicolas Batum each received votes for the 2014 All-Defensive teams.

Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA announcesd its 2014 All-Defensive teams on Monday, and two Portland Trail Blazers players received votes this year.

Blazers guard Wesley Matthews received one vote for the All-Defensive First Team and two votes for the All-Defensive Second Team.

Blazers forward Nicolas Batum received one vote for the All-Defensive First Team and two votes for the All-Defensive Second Team.

This year, All-Defensive team voting was handled by the media rather than by a panel of coaches. This season marked the first time that media votes were made available to the public.

Of note, Blazers broadcaster Mike Rice cast Batum's First Team vote, while Bill Simmons of -- also known as "The Sports Guy" -- cast a Second Team vote for Matthews.

Here's a look at how the two teams broke down and the full voting tally. Note: two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.

Click the image to enlarge.


Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses): DeAndre Jordan, L.A. Clippers 63 (14); Anthony Davis, New Orleans, 62 (18); Tony Allen, Memphis, 60 (17); Tim Duncan, San Antonio, 45 (12); Dwight Howard, Houston, 26 (6); Taj Gibson, Chicago, 21 (2); Mike Conley, Memphis, 21 (5); Ricky Rubio, Minnesota, 19 (5); Lance Stephenson, Indiana, 14 (3); P.J. Tucker, Phoenix, 13 (2); Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City, 10 (2); Kyle Lowry, Toronto, 10 (3); Eric Bledsoe, Phoenix, 9 (1); Marc Gasol, Memphis, 8; John Wall, Washington, 8 (1); Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City, 8 (1); Kirk Hinrich, Chicago, 7 (2); Trevor Ariza, Washington, 5 (2); Avery Bradley, Boston, 5 (1); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 5 (1); Klay Thompson, Golden State, 5; Andrew Bogut, Golden State, 4; Chris Bosh, Miami, 4 (1); Luol Deng, Cleveland, 4 (1); Wesley Matthews, Portland, 4 (1); Tony Parker, San Antonio, 4 (1); Nicolas Batum, Portland, 3 (1); Stephen Curry, Golden State, 3 (1); Danny Green, San Antonio, 3 (1); Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Charlotte, 3; Shaun Livingston, Brooklyn, 3 (1); Victor Oladipo, Orlando, 3 (1); DeMarre Carroll, Atlanta, 2; Matt Barnes, L.A. Clippers, 2 (1); James Harden, Houston, 2; George Hill, Indiana, 2; Jeff Teague, Atlanta, 2; Dwyane Wade, Miami, 2 (1); Kemba Walker, Charlotte, 2; David West, Indiana, 2; Arron Afflalo, Orlando, 1; Corey Brewer, Minnesota, 1; Michael Carter-Williams, Philadelphia,1; Darren Collison, L.A. Clippers, 1; DeMar DeRozan, Toronto, 1; Andre Drummond, Detroit, 1; Monta Ellis, Dallas, 1; Danny Granger, L.A. Clippers, 1; Draymond Green, Golden State, 1; Reggie Jackson, Oklahoma City, 1; David Lee, Golden State, 1; Paul Millsap, Atlanta, 1; Rajon Rondo, Boston, 1.

Batum was the only Blazers player to receive an All-Defensive team vote last year.

Blazers guard CJ McCollum received an All-Rookie Team vote.

Blazers GM Neil Olshey finished third in the 2014 Executive of the Year award voting.

Blazers forward LaMarcus Aldridge finished 10th in the 2014 NBA MVP voting.

Blazers coach Terry Stotts finished sixth in the 2014 Coach of the Year voting.

Aldridge and Blazers center Robin Lopez both drew votes for 2014 Most Improved Player.

-- Ben Golliver | | Twitter