clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Sets 24-Team Field For Las Vegas Summer League

The NBA has set the 24-team field for the 2014 Las Vegas Summer League.

Craig Mitchelldyer-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA has officially set the field for the 2014 Las Vegas Summer League, where the Portland Trail Blazers will be one of 24 teams competing to win a championship in the league's tournament-style format.

Here's the list of the 23 teams -- plus a select team of D-League players -- that will play in Las Vegas this summer.

Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Hornets, Chicago Bulls, Cleveland Cavaliers, Dallas Mavericks, Denver Nuggets, D-League Select, Golden State Warriors, Houston Rockets, L.A. Clippers, L.A. Lakers, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Pelicans, New York Knicks, Philadelphia 76ers, Phoenix Suns, Portland Trail Blazers, Sacramento Kings, San Antonio Spurs, Toronto Raptors, Utah Jazz and Washington Wizards

Here's some additional information on logistics from a league release.

Teams will compete in three preliminary round games from July 11-15, before being seeded in a tournament running through the Championship Game on July 21. Each team is guaranteed to play at least five games.

This summer, 10 of the 12 teams that own Lottery picks in the 2014 NBA Draft presented by State Farm will take the court at Samsung NBA Summer League, including the Cleveland Cavaliers, Milwaukee Bucks and Philadelphia 76ers, who are slated to make the top three picks in this year's Draft. Each team is expected to choose from an impressive crop of prospects that includes Australia's Dante Exum, Duke's Jabari Parker, Joel Embiid and Andrew Wiggins from Kansas, and Kentucky's Julius Randle. Samsung NBA Summer League will feature many of these top prospects in their first taste of NBA action, along with other recent high draft picks, as well as undrafted rookies and free agents hoping to make their mark.

The 2014 summer marks the event's 10th anniversary.

During exit interviews, Blazers coach Terry Stotts said that Will Barton, Allen Crabbe, Joel Freeland, Meyers Leonard, CJ McCollum and Thomas Robinson will all play in Las Vegas.

Earlier this month, the NBA officially set the dates for the 2014 Las Vegas Summer League. Games will run from Friday, July 11, through Monday, July 21. The NBA has not yet announced the specific day-by-day schedule.

The Blazers have participated in Summer League every year since 2005, with the exception of 2011, when the lockout wiped out the event.

Blazersedge will provide coverage from Summer League as always.

-- Ben Golliver | | Twitter