clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blazers' Doctor Tom Reis Named NBA's Physician Of The Year

The Portland Trail Blazers announced Wednesday that team doctor Tom Reis was named the NBA's Physician of the Year.

The Portland Trail Blazers announced Wednesday that team doctor Tom Reis was named the NBA's Physician of the Year.

Portland Trail Blazers Team Physician Dr. Tom Reis has been named the 2013 Physician of the Year, as voted by members of the National Basketball Athletic Trainers Association (NBATA).

The NBATA Physician of the Year Award is an annual honor recognizing an NBA team physician for exceptional service and care for his/her own team and visiting teams, in addition to a commitment to service in the community and to NBATA charities.

"Dr. Reis has always provided a tremendous friendship and sounding board to members of the NBATA," said Ed Lacerte, NBATA Treasurer and Athletic Trainer of the Boston Celtics. "When our team's players have been ill, he has always gone above and beyond what he needs to do to care for them. There's a comfort level and a security level there that he will be willing and able to assist day or night."

Dr. Reis joined the Trail Blazers medical staff in 1994. Board-certified in Internal Medicine, Dr. Reis treats illnesses and other non-orthopedic issues, and arranges physicals and lab work. He sees patients at Rebound's Rose Quarter Office in Portland.

A Fellow of the American College of Physicians (ACP) and Governor of the Washington Chapter of ACP from 1994-98, Dr. Reis is a graduate of Creighton Medical School in Omaha, Neb. He completed his internship at the Nassau County Medical Center in East Meadow, N.Y., and his residency at the Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) in Portland.

Trail Blazers Team Physician and Orthopedic Surgeon Dr. Don Roberts was named the NBATA Team Physician of the Year in 2008.

Reis averaged a career-high 12.2 "turn and coughs" and led the league in PER (Painkiller Efficiency Rating).

The Blazers parted ways with trainer Jay Jensen after 19 years of service earlier this month.

Other awards-watching: Blazers forward LaMarcus Aldridge narrowly missed out on the All-NBA teams while forward/center J.J. Hickson received a vote, Blazers forward Nicolas Batum received an All-Defensive First Team vote, Blazers guard Damian Lillard was unanimously selected as the Rookie of the Year and unanimously selected to the All-Rookie First Team, and Luke Babbitt received a third-place Sixth Man of the Year vote in one of the greatest moments in basketball history.

Blazers GM Neil Olshey did not receive a vote for Executive of the Year, coach Terry Stotts did not receive any votes for Coach of the Year and no Blazers received votes for Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year or Most Improved Player.

Image via

-- Ben Golliver | | Twitter