clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blazers F LaMarcus Aldridge Left Off 2013 All-NBA Teams

Portland Trail Blazers All-Star forward LaMarcus Aldridge was not named to one of the three 2012-13 All-NBA Teams.


Portland Trail Blazers All-Star forward LaMarcus Aldridge was not named to one of the three 2012-13 All-NBA Teams but he was listed in the "other players receiving votes" category, where he was joined by Blazers F/C J.J. Hickson.

The All-NBA teams are voted on by a media panel and take positions into account, with each team made up of two guards, two forwards and a center.

Aldridge was beaten out by First Team forwards LeBron James (Miami Heat) and Kevin Durant (Oklahoma City Thunder), Second Team forwards Carmelo Anthony (New York Knicks) and Blake Griffin (Los Angeles Clippers) and Third Team forwards David Lee (Golden State Warriors) and Paul George (Indiana Pacers). All six players represented 2013 playoff teams. Indeed, all 15 All-NBA selections came from players whose teams made the postseason.

Aldridge was an All-NBA Third Team selection in 2010-11. He finished first among forwards in the "others receiving votes category" this year just as he did in 2011-12.

Hickson received one Third Team vote.

Former Blazers guard Raymond Felton, now with the New York Knicks, received three Third Team votes.

Here's how the full voting results broke down. Five points for First Team vote, three points for Second Team vote, one point for Third Team vote.


Other players receiving votes, with point totals: Brook Lopez, Brooklyn, 132 (7 First Team votes); Stephen Curry, Golden State, 72; LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland, 62; Chris Bosh, Miami, 59 (4); Joakim Noah, Chicago, 56 (3); Zach Randolph, Memphis, 45; Al Horford, Atlanta, 31 (2); Paul Pierce, Boston, 24; Al Jefferson, Utah, 20 (1); Tyson Chandler, New York, 19 (1); Roy Hibbert, Indiana, 9; Luol Deng, Chicago, 8; Kevin Garnett, Boston, 8; Ty Lawson, Denver, 8; Josh Smith, Atlanta, 7; Deron Williams, Brooklyn, 6; Pau Gasol, LA Lakers, 4; Serge Ibaka, Oklahoma City, 4; Omer Asik, Houston, 3; Kenneth Faried, Denver, 3; Raymond Felton, New York, 3; Kyrie Irving, Cleveland, 3; Carlos Boozer, Chicago, 2; Mike Conley, Memphis, 2; David West, Indiana, 2; Rudy Gay, Toronto, 1; J.J. Hickson, Portland, 1; Andre Iguodala, Denver, 1; Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas, 1; Nikola Pekovic, Minnesota, 1; Rajon Rondo, Boston, 1; Nikola Vucevic, Orlando, 1.

Aldridge, 27, averaged 21.1 points, 9.1 rebounds and 2.6 assists while shooting 48.4 percent from the field.

Hickson, 24, averaged 12.7 points, 10.4 rebounds and 1.1 assists while shooting 56.2 percent from the field.

Other awards watching: Blazers forward Nicolas Batum received an All-Defensive First Team vote, Blazers guard Damian Lillard was unanimously selected as the Rookie of the Year and unanimously selected to the All-Rookie First Team, and Luke Babbitt received a third-place Sixth Man of the Year vote in one of the greatest moments in basketball history. Blazers GM Neil Olshey did not receive a vote for Executive of the Year, coach Terry Stotts did not receive any votes for Coach of the Year and no Blazers received votes for Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year or Most Improved Player.

-- Ben Golliver | | Twitter