clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blazers G Damian Lillard Unanimously Selected To All-Rookie First Team

Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard has been unanimously selected by the coaches to the All-Rookie First Team.

Jaime Valdez-USA TODAY Sports

Portland Trail Blazers guard Damian Lillard, the media's unanimous selection as 2013 Rookie of the Year, has been unanimously selected by the coaches to the All-Rookie First Team.

Blazers rookies Meyers Leonard and Will Barton did not receive any votes.

Lillard is joined on the First Team by Washington Wizards guard Bradley Beal, New Orleans Hornets forward Anthony Davis, Cleveland Cavaliers guard Dion Waiters and Golden State Warriors forward Harrison Barnes.

The Second Team: Detroit Pistons center Andre Drummond, Toronto Raptors center Jonas Valanciunas, Charlotte Bobcats forward Michael Kidd-Gilchrist, Detroit Pistons forward Kyle Singler and Cleveland Cavaliers center Tyler Zeller.

Lillard was the lone unanimous First Team selection (58 points, 29 First Team votes), while the Washington Wizards' Bradley Beal and the New Orleans Hornets' Anthony Davis totaled 57 points each, including 28 First Team votes. Rounding out the 2012-13 NBA All-Rookie First Team are Dion Waiters of the Cleveland Cavaliers (50 points, 21 First Team) and Harrison Barnes of the Golden State Warriors (47 points, 18 First Team).

The voting panel consisted of the NBA's 30 head coaches, who were asked to select five players for the first team and five players for the second team, regardless of position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes.

Here are the voting results.


Other players receiving votes, with point totals (first place votes in parentheses):
Maurice Harkless, Orlando, 14 (1); Alexey Shved, Minnesota, 14 (1); Chris Copeland, New York, 9 (1); Brian Roberts, New Orleans, 5; Andrew Nicholson, Orlando, 4; Jae Crowder, Dallas, 1; Festus Ezeli, Golden State, 1; Draymond Green, Golden State, 1; John Jenkins, Atlanta, 1; Terrence Jones, Houston, 1; Pablo Prigioni, New York, 1; Terrence Ross, Toronto, 1; Jeff Taylor, Charlotte, 1.

Other awards watching: Lillard was unanimously selected as the Rookie of the Year, Nicolas Batum received a vote for the All-Defensive First Team, and Luke Babbitt received a third-place Sixth Man of the Year votein one of the greatest moments in basketball history. Blazers GM Neil Olshey did not receive a vote for Executive of the Year, coach Terry Stotts did not receive any votes for Coach of the Year and no Blazers received votes for Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year or Most Improved Player.

-- Ben Golliver | | Twitter