Blazers F Nicolas Batum Receives Vote For 2013 All-Defensive First Team

Michael Hickey-US PRESSWIRE

Portland Trail Blazers forward Nicolas Batum received a vote for 2013 All-Defensive First Team.

The NBA announced its 2013 All-Defensive First and Second Teams on Monday. No Portland Trail Blazers were included but forward Nicolas Batum did garner a vote for the First Team.

The First Team selections: Chris Paul, Tony Allen, LeBron James, Serge Ibaka and Tyson Chandler/Joakim Noah, who finished tied at the center spot. The Second Team selections: Mike Conley, Avery Bradley, Paul George, Tim Duncan and Marc Gasol.

Here are the voting results.

The voting panel consisted of the NBA's 30 head coaches, who were asked to select NBA All-Defensive First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Two points were awarded for a First Team vote and one point was awarded for a Second Team vote.


Other players receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses): Andre Iguodala, Denver, 16 (2); Larry Sanders, Milwaukee, 16 (4); Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City, 15 (2); Luol Deng, Chicago, 11 (1); Dwight Howard, L.A. Lakers, 9 (3); Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers (6 (1); Roy Hibbert, Indiana, 6 (2); Kenneth Faried, Denver, 4 (1); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 4 (1); Shane Battier, Miami, 2; Nicolas Batum, Portland, 2 (1); Corey Brewer, Denver, 2; George Hill, Indiana, 2; Mike James, Dallas, 2 (1); Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio, 2, (1); Tony Parker, San Antonio, 2 (1); Dwyane Wade, Miami, 2; Metta World Peace, L.A. Lakers, 2 (1); Eric Bledsoe, L.A. Clippers, 1; Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City, 1; Jrue Holiday, Philadelphia, 1; Andrei Kirilenko, Minnesota, 1; Iman Shumpert, New York, 1; David West, Indiana, 1.

Care to guess which coach singled out Batum for his defensive acumen?

Other awards watching: Blazers guard Damian Lillard was unanimously selected as the Rookie of the Year and Luke Babbitt received a third-place Sixth Man of the Year vote in one of the greatest moments in basketball history. Blazers GM Neil Olshey did not receive a vote for Executive of the Year, coach Terry Stotts did not receive any votes for Coach of the Year and no Blazers received votes for Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year or Most Improved Player.

-- Ben Golliver | | Twitter

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Blazer's Edge

You must be a member of Blazer's Edge to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Blazer's Edge. You should read them.

Join Blazer's Edge

You must be a member of Blazer's Edge to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Blazer's Edge. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.