In a statement posted on NBA.com/official, the NBA has admitted that referee Scott Foster made an "incorrect call" when he whistled Portland Trail Blazers forward LaMarcus Aldridge for a goaltending violation while defending a late runner by Oklahoma City Thunder All-Star forward Kevin Durant during a Monday night game at the Rose Garden.
Here's the statement.
With six seconds remaining in the fourth quarter, the Blazers' LaMarcus Aldridge was called for goaltending on a shot attempted by the Thunder's Kevin Durant (shown below). With the benefit of slow motion replay following the game, it has been determined that Aldridge made contact with the ball just before the ball hit the backboard. Therefore, this should have been ruled a good block and goaltending was the incorrect call. (As determined by the NBA's Competition Committee, referees may not use instant replay on goaltending calls.)
On an official Twitter account, the league wrote: "Close call in Portland last night but with benefit of replay, goaltending was incorrect call."
The goaltending call gave Durant a basket that tied the game at 103 points. The game eventually went to overtime, where the Thunder prevailed, 111-107.
Blazers coach Nate McMillan said on Monday night that he would submit the play to the league office for review. I noted in the Media Row Report that a public acknowledgment on NBA.com/official was a possibility given the controversial circumstances.
The ruling, of course, does not change the final result of Monday's game.
-- Ben Golliver | firstname.lastname@example.org | Twitter
Does acknowledgment of the error by the NBA league office make you feel better?
Yes (652 votes)
No (2123 votes)
Other (please explain in the comments) (61 votes)
2836 total votes